Statement for the prevention of stroke and systemic embolism in adult patients with non-valvular atrial fibrillation

May 2015 update

This statement was first developed in April 2012 to support the safe and effective introduction of a new class of medicines, namely the novel oral anticoagulants (NOACs) to NHSScotland.

There are now three NOACs available for use in NHSScotland (dabigatran, rivaroxaban and apixaban), each with different efficacy and safety profiles. Local prescribing policies are now being developed to agree choice and use of NOACs.

The statement will not be refreshed but will remain as an information source for use by services that require to review their arrangements for use of NOACs locally.

The April 2012 statement is as follows:

Dabigatran etexilate (Pradaxa®) and rivaroxaban (Xarelto®)

Healthcare Improvement Scotland has been providing national leadership and support for safe and effective use of the new oral anticoagulants, dabigatran etexilate (Pradaxa®) and rivaroxaban (Xarelto®) in NHSScotland via the development of a national statement on their use.

The statement identifies those patient groups that should be considered for dabigatran, rivaroxaban or existing anticoagulants, such as warfarin.

The statement has been issued via each NHS boards’ Area Drug and Therapeutic Committee (ADTC).

Further information

Published Date: 30 April 2012