Published Date: 30 October 2009

Neurological Health Services Clinical Standards

The Clinical Standards for Neurological Health Services (Oct 2009) were created to address the variability of services, across NHSScotland, available to those with neurological conditions.

How to improve the patient journey

The standards aim to improve the patient journey from the point of referral into the service and ensure that every patient with a disorder of the nervous system experiences a quality of care that gives confidence to the patient, clinician and carer.

Generic or condition specific neurological care

There are 19 standards. The first four are generic standards and can be applied to services provided for all patients with neurological conditions. The others are condition-specific standards.

These conditions are:

  • epilepsy
  • headache
  • motor neurone disease
  • multiple sclerosis
  • Parkinson’s disease.

NHS Quality Improvement Scotland published evidence-based Clinical Standards for Neurological Services in October 2009. The Neurological Health Services Standards Implementation Programme is a two-year programme in the first instance, that aims to build on the progress of the Standards.

Share this content

Neurological standards 2009